Holiday Travel Tips

This is my first Thanksgiving that I’m not going home. Sad! I have to stay in Boston and study for my comprehensive exams to finish my program. Plus, I knew if I went home I wouldn’t be studying because I’d be playing with my dog or going shopping with my mom or going to the movies with my dad or going out with friends… anything but studying.

While I miss my parents and home terribly so this Thanksgiving, the one thing I won’t miss is holiday travel. Traffic on the highways… overcrowded planes… chaotic airports. Ugh, airports during the holidays are probably my least favorite place on earth EVER. But, I have come up with some tips to make your life easier.

1. If you’re in the city, book a towncar or taxi at least a day before you leave. Last Thanksgiving, when I was going home I ended up letting 2 other people into my towncar to Logan because they could not get a cab.

2. Give yourself plenty of time to get to the airport because traffic going to the airport tends to back up during the holidays. Also, the lines at security are extra long. I would try to get there at least 2 hours before my flight.

3. Make your life easier when you’re going through security and put your plastic baggie of liquids somewhere easy to reach. Wear shoes easy to slip off and on (check here for more tips on what to wear). Try not to wear a belt or too much jewelry that you’d have to take off.

4. If traveling by car or bus, take something to entertain you in traffic like a book on tape or a fun playlist. Don’t let traffic put you in a bad mood.

5. BREATHE… even though you’re more likely to get easily frustrated while traveling during the holidays just know that everyone around you just wants to get home too. So take it easy, you’ll get there.

Here are some more tips I found useful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Airfare, Travel

Leave a Reply

